family practice issues and general life events

Boats

I am absolutely in love with the idea of boat ownership.  The thought of owning something that I could just take out on the water and leave all of my worries behind on the shore just fascinates me to no end.  I fully love the idea.  Our vacations tend to be somewhere that is near water, and possibly a beach.  Every year, we take a trip to St Johns which requires a boat trip from ST Thomas to St John.  Any way I love the water.

I say that I am in love with the idea of boat ownership.  Not so sure that I would be truly in love with boat ownership, I should probably just stick with the paddle boat that my husband gave me for my birthday.  Owning a boat is hard work.  Sure we all dream of owning a yacht with a crew, but the reality is that is quite a bit of of my price range.

I was out at the lake today, and was watching a boat owner take care of their boat.  The maintenance, cleaning it and working considerably harder than I would like for something that is supposed to be a leisure activity.  In fact, I don’t know that I have the time to maintain a decent size boat.  IT is quite the investment.  And investment is not even the correct word.  Boats don’t tend to keep their value, they are a lot like cars, or maybe children.  They are something you must love and have a passion for.  And you must have the time to take care of them.

Not to mention the expense, you either have to rent a dock or boat house or already have some place to keep them already- which requires space.  The romantic notion of boat ownership I have in my head include cruising along in lakes, or sailing in the oceans.  I don’t want it altered by the reality of maintenance.  So maybe it is best that I kept to my paddle boat, and not commit the folly of truly owning a boat.  But a girl can dream, can’t she.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

