family practice issues and general life events

Finally after 8 weeks of not getting paid by Medicare, and 6 weeks of not getting paid by Medicaid, maybe there is hope.  Talking to my fellow physicians have helped.  Sadly the fact that knowing I am not alone and the biggest idiot with regards to payment ever has comforted me. For the first time in my life the expresssion, misery loves company actually does apply.  Not that I wanted them to have any difficulties, but for a bit, I thought maybe I was alone.  Being alone, would mean that it was all my fault, having company means there must be something in the system that is tragecially wrong.

Anyway, the new company that we had contracted took over the Medicaid billing immediately, and did get us some cash, unfortunately the Oklahoma Medicaid site crashed on Friday, and was not back up until Wednesday.  It still is not fully functional, but at least claims can be inputted back in.  (Probably due to all the desperate physicians in the state who had been using a clearinghouse to submit claims jumping on in droves desperate for some cash flow, that is just my opinion, but it is as likely as anything else.)

And Thursday morning, we were told that all of the updates from both the EHR vendor and the interface were finally complete.  (These are updates that have been released since the first of the year, and probably since the date we found out there was a problem, not due to any negligence on my part.)  And we were free to resubmit all claims.  Which means we get to go through and find all of the claims that we have submitted since December 19, and start all over again.  What fun will that be!

I spent Friday with the company that we had hired to start doing our billing (because we had a problem before the 5010 conversion almost bankrupted me, it only made it worse).  We were showing them the ins and outs of our system, and while showing them how to do somethings, we were able to understand some of the issues that we have been having.  Unfortunately the person who was responsible for inputing payment in never brought that issue to our attention.  But it will be fixed immediately.

As for our Clearinghouse, I understand that you were probably overwhelmed, but seriously, couldn’t you have given at least a heads up.  Some of us were in the middle of a Medicaid audit so it took a little longer to realize the problem.  You should have posted something immediately.  You were only too happy to take my money.  And the email you sent me saying you were looking into the issue, still has yet to address any of the concerns we have.  And your customer service response of “well look at our website.”  Which we had already looked at, and it said nothing, left much to be desired.  So any thoughts we had about retaining your services have been removed.  We will probably convert from you over the next month, after being a customer for almost 6 years now.

To my elected officials, I will keep you lack of response in mind when it comes to your re-election campaigns.  I received one confirmatory email which the senator will try to respond in the next month.  I guess you all were too concerned about issues of birth control (both state and nationwide) to think about whether physicians would even still be in practice in 3 months to prescribe the pills.

For all of you with your kind words of support, thank you.  I do appreciate it, and send happy thoughts back to you.  This year, so far has not been the one that I would like to repeat so far.  This conversion has really opened my eyes about future conversions.  I am not worried about ICD-10 for the coding issue, but for the computer conversion issue.  IF this is a taste of what is to come when that happens, well I am not sure that I have the desire to continue.

Comments on: "A light at the end of the tunnel (OH I do hope it is not a train)" (6)

  1. Glad to hear of a semi-victory over the forces of bureaucracy.
    The worst form of corruption is incompetency.

    For politicians, I believe in retroactive birth control.

  2. What a nightmare, Doc. I’m glad it’s nearing it’s end.

    • Thank you. I hope that it is. Though even still will have to go to bank and get a loan to make payroll this week. But supposedly there will be a nice sized check this week from Medicaid. Now just to go through the mess to resubmit everything.

  3. The word came in today from one of the offices I work with that payment was received from Medicare!! Just check that all those claims your re-billing don’t bump back as duplicate 🙂 That is the first thing I think of when someone states re-bill. Medicare stated a while back that they do not want to see the CC modifier on a claim, but this has been the only way to get it through our clearinghouse without it bumping back as duplicate. Good Luck 🙂

    • Thanks. We will try to keep that in mind. Only yesterday, the Trailblazer site crashed, further delaying payments. this is a comedy of errors if I ever say one. I am laughing only so that I don’t cry

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

