family practice issues and general life events

Decision making

Making decisions is often a more complicated process than we give it credit.  It is not always a matter of what is right or wrong, that would be a lot easier.  Most of the time it is shades of gray.  It is easy to make a decision when it is popular and everyone is cheering you on, but what about when your decision is not popular?  When it makes those around you well if not angry, at least not happy?  Does that make it the wrong decision?

It could fully be the best decision, but maybe it affects them in some adverse way.  Maybe it means a little more work, or they have to get things put in quicker, but it doesn’t always mean it is the wrong decision.  In my business, I have found myself at one time being forced to lay people off, because financially well we were in trouble.  It was the best decision for the business, but not necessarily for those individuals.  Though I will tell you that the staff left was able to perform their functions just as well without them as with them.  So it actually revealed more to me about those that were no longer with the company. 

Earlier this year, I had to forego a paycheck personally to keep my office running and make sure that my employees get paid.  Terrible decision personally, professionally well we are still going.  And doing ok.  Unfortunately for them it makes me a little less sympathetic when I don’t think that they are doing the job, I would like them to do.  Something about working for free does that.  And yet at the end of that time, I find that I have found better solutions for somethings, and have identified areas that don’t work

Decisions in business, while we like to pretend that they are not personal, well they always have a personal effect on the person they are done to.  It is not like we live in a vacuum.  Losing a job due to downsizing is terribly personal to the person that is no longer employed, even if it had nothing to do with their performance.  But sometimes like all tough decisions, cuts have to be made, and unfortunately in many places payroll is both the most expensive of the overhead, and the easiest to cut.

The key to being successful overall is running a business with the most efficient and lowest amount of overhead possible.  this means making sure you have the staff you need, but not too many that someone is allowed to slack or you start running into one another.  This is something I have yet to master but I strive for.  And hopefully someday I will acheive

Comments on: "Decision making" (4)

  1. Jim Zee said:

    When you work from day to day, week to week, or job to job as do plumbers, electricians, carpenters, tradesmen, farmers, you don’t understand the attachment people have for the security of an everyday employer.

    Some folks get comfortable in a mold thinking that their one job will go on forever. Thus, they tend, like human beings do, to take things for granted and get lazy in their ways. They will rest on their laurels, and will seldom do anything further to enhance their careers or skills, thinking that they are irreplaceable.

    As they say in show business, you’re only as good as your last performance.

    Cruel, but true.

    But then, so is life. Cruel and temporary.

    C’est la vie.

    Good post.

    • Thank you, and you are so correct. Funny thing is that up until a year ago, I used to pride myself on a low turnover rate on staff, and then for one reason or another, almost everyone had left. And when we started with new people, I noticed how much that I had taken for granted that was getting done, actually hadn’t been done, or not correctly. And some of these things are vital to my inventory count, vaccine supply, etc.
      Thank you for your input, you hit on human nature exactly

  2. I can only imagine how difficult it must be to run a business and not let emotions get in the way. That was very unselfish of you to give up one of your checks for your employees’ checks, but you certainly can’t do that every month, so hard decisions have to be made. I don’t envy your position.
    I’m kind of on the other end of you. I’m begging for hours at work to cover the cost of insurance and raising four kids, but management is being forced to cut hours because of the slow business during winter. I mentioned my concerns only once, then let it go, because I know that business is business. I think they appreciated the fact that I didn’t keep complaining, and as soon as business picked up, I was the first to get more hours. 🙂
    I wish you great success!

    • Thanks. It is not easy on either side. Though I can tell you as a business owner and employee eager to work is hard to find and very valuable. Good luck

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

