family practice issues and general life events

Computers hate me

This post is all about computer problems, but truthfully the biggest problem is the user, ME!  now this is not just a made up issue, but I have the ability to cause computer problems while just touching a computer.  For example, when my new tablet was set up, they (our computer people) forgot to hook it up to the printers.  Well no problem I could do it.  So I attempted to install the two main printers I needed.  Well one worked just fine, the other was apparently missing a driver, so I attempted to download it from the site.  No bueno.  It did not work at all.  

So I could not print prescriptions, orders or anything.  So one afternoon, when the hubby was out of the office, he let me borrow his tablet for convenience.  And the next morning he complained that I had somehow changed his font.  (Which I hadn’t touched)  In fact, he tells me that whenever I have used his computer in the past, I manage to alter it in some ways. I truly have no idea how.

And then there is a problem of converting between computers.  While at work I use a tablet with a touch screen.  So you can only imagine how foolish I feel at night, on my laptop (not touch screen) when I am tapping the screen with my finger to get the cursor where I would like it to go.  Weirdly enough, the tapping doesn’t work.  And it isn’t really great at the office, because my new tablet is too sensitive sometimes opening up internet websites when I graze it.

I had planned to get off the information super highway at 25.  Like my parents did.  (Though they were also dragged back on it themselves)  I knew how to do web searches and email, what else did I need.  And while I was an early adopter of medical records, well that was more out of convenience than any attempt to be at the forefront of technology.  I tried to avoid Facebook, didn’t understand Twitter, never was on MySpace, and have gotten to the age where as a kid, I used to think of as old.

Anyway, I am on the highway, but don’t see an exit, so I will continue to deal with my errors.  My most common one?  Now whenever I do a formulary check, it freezes my system.  I am hoping when we do our next upgrade that will go away, but in the meantime, I will stop attempting to check formularies.  I already use Ctl-Alt-Del way too much as it is.

What is the funniest thing to me about this whole issue?  Well I have been asked to speak about the implementation of electronic records and how to receive the incentive bonus from CMS, twice.  I am the expert, and I would swear the thing hates me.

Comments on: "Computers hate me" (4)

  1. Jim Zee said:

    Repeat after me: I am not alone. I am not alone. Computers hate EVERYONE. 🙂

    I read somewhere that IT costs in an business are running 10 to 20 percent of net. Not surprising.

    • I am not alone. I am not alone. Good to know that.

      I don’t think 10% would be that far off from out net when I think about it. We pay a service monthly (not sure if I come out ahead that way) to make sure all of our updates are installed, virus protection up to date, and whatever other issues come up are handled by a phone call or less. And then there is the internet, the software, and the actual computers, so it very well could be that high.

  2. The Geek Squad has my computer trying to undo whatever I did to it. It must be bad because they say it’ll take 2-3 weeks. :/
    I think computers have it in for all of us.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

